Zero 7 Overview

Zero 7 is a Grammy Award-nominated, downtempo styled musical duo comprising of Henry Binns and Sam Hardaker from the United Kingdom. Contributing artists include vocals from Mozez, Sia Furler, Tina Dico, Sophie Barker, and José González. The guest vocalist lineup for the duo has subsequently included Eska Mtungwazi, Martha Tilston, and Rowdy Superstar for their fourth studio album.

After studying sound engineering Audio engineering , Binns and Hardaker began their careers in the music industry in the 1990s at Mickie Most's RAK RAK Records recording studio in London, engineering music for British musicians including Pet Shop Boys, Young Disciples and Robert Plant. They contacted their friend and former college-mate Nigel Godrich, who was the producer Record producer for the band Radiohead, asking if he could give them some of the band's music to hone their skills with. The result was a remix of "Climbing Up the Walls", from Radiohead's 1997 album OK Computer.

That remix was played on Gilles Peterson's show on BBC Radio 1, leading to further remixing duties, beginning with Terry Callier's "Love Theme From Spartacus", followed by mixes for artists including Lenny Kravitz, Sneaker Pimps and Lambchop Lambchop (band) . In 1999, they went on to release an EP Extended play of original material called "EP1", under the name Zero 7. In 2001, they released their debut album, Simple Things Simple Things (Zero 7 album) , to wide acclaim. The album featured collaborations with vocalists singer Mozez, Sia Furler, and Sophie Barker.

The album was nominated for several awards including the Mercury Music Prize. They won the "Best Newcomer" award at the Muzik Awards. The album sold sufficient copies to become a gold record Gold album . When they toured the album, including appearances at a number of music festivals, the live band consisted of Binns and Hardaker, their three vocalists and a host of other musicians (many of whom appeared on the album), sometimes numbering up to 20 performers on stage at once. In 2002, Zero 7 released a DJ mix album DJ mix for Azuli Records' Another Late Night Late Night Tales series, which features various hip hop Hip hop music and chill out Chill out (music) artists and also included a new track by the band, a cover of Johnny Osbourne's "Truth & Rights".

In 2004, they released their second album, When It Falls. In addition to the three vocalists from their first album, it also featured a collaboration with Danish singer-songwriter, Tina Dico. In the same year, Binns also co-wrote the Emma Bunton track "Breathing" from her second solo album, Free Me.

Wanting to get back to the basics and turn away from being more than a duo, Zero 7 released their third album, The Garden The Garden (Zero 7 album) , on May 22, 2006. Mozez, Barker, and Dico did not return for this record. Only two vocalists were featured on the new LP, which included the Zero 7 mainstay and long-time cohort Sia Furler, and newcomer José González. Zero 7's own Henry Binns makes his singing debut on the album. The name of the album comes from the cover art, which is a collection of collages done by an artist friend, entitled none other than "The Garden."

In 2007 Binns and Hardaker created a band called Ingrid Eto, which has been described a Zero 7 instrumental project. The band also released an EP under the alias of Kling (which like Ingrid Eto was an experimental instrumental project). The tracks from Kling EP were later incorporated into Zero 7's fourth album "Yeah Ghost".

Zero 7 have released their fourth studio album entitled Yeah Ghost. The album has a similar sound approach from their third release, The Garden The Garden (Zero 7 album) . Incorporating a more upbeat sound, Binns and Hardaker enlisted the help of vocalists jazz and soul singer, Eska Mtungwazi, folk artist Martha Tilston, and Rowdy Superstar. Long-time vocal mainstay Sia Furler does not make an appearance on the fourth Zero 7 release, due to her work with her own upcoming solo album along with a major collaboration with Christina Aguilera for her future album release. Aside from the three new vocal contributors, Binns also has a vocal appearance on Yeah Ghost much like his previous debut on The Garden The Garden (Zero 7 album) .Zero 7 have been po***rly featured in various film and TV soundtracks, as well as lounge music compilations such as The Chillout Project by Filipino Philippines DJ Anton Ramos, and the Hôtel Costes compilation CDs. Their track "Lo" was featured on a mix CD by Layo and Bushwacka!, and is the reason behind the common mistake of people thinking that Layo and Bushwacka! had remixed the track. It is one of the few times the track has actually appeared on CD or in digital form, as the only Zero 7 release it has been featured on is EP1 which was only available on vinyl.

Their music appearances in movies and television are also apparent, most notably their songs "Destiny Destiny (Zero 7 song) " (Blue Crush, Raising Helen, Smallville, Roswell Roswell (TV series) , Obsessed Obsessed (2009 film) ), "Give It Away" (Top Gear,CSI: Crime Scene Investigation), and "In The Waiting Line" (Garden State Garden State (film) , *** and the City, House House (TV series) , Numb3rs).

"Destiny" was featured on the Lacoste website. For SkyTV's broadcast of the Star Wars Saga, "Destiny" was used as the background music in the romance version of the full length commercial. In early 2006, HBO used "In The Waiting Line" for a promotional for the network's upcoming season of shows. The 96-second trailer featured clips of the shows moving in backwards fashion. In 2008 NBC used "In The Waiting Line" in a profile of French French people Olympic Olympic Games Swimmer Laure Manaudou. Fox TV Fox Broadcasting Company has also used "In The Waiting Line" on its hit show, House House (TV series) , shown in 2009.

Zero 7 have also influenced other artists, with the song "In The Waiting Line" being sampled by M Will the Shogun, son of Marley Marl, for use in the song "Nothing Iz Real" by Termanology.
Studio albums

* Simple Things Simple Things (Zero 7 album) (2001)
* Another Late Night Another Late Night: Zero 7 (2002)
* When It Falls (2004)
* The Garden The Garden (Zero 7 album) (2006)
* Yeah Ghost (2009)* Nominated for Best British Newcomer at the Brit Awards 2002.
* Nominated for a 2007 Grammy Award Grammy Awards of 2007 for The Garden in the category Best Electronic/Dance Album


* The text above is either a part or the full text originally published at
* The text above is subject to CC-BY-SA:

Zero 7


Q sec 

All lyrics are property and copyright of their respective authors, artists and labels. All lyrics provided for educational purposes only.
On you can find lyrics, album names, artist overviews, history, current and past members of bands, listen and watch videos.