Nuclear Assault Overview

Nuclear Assault was an American thrash metal/crossover thrash band formed in 1984.

After the release of Anthrax Anthrax (band) 's debut album Fistful of Metal, bass player Danny Lilker, a founding member of the group, was fired by the band. He decided to pursue a more aggressive style of music and formed Nuclear Assault with guitarist/vocalist John Connelly John Connelly (musician) , who had been involved in an early version of Anthrax.
The group's first live performance was at the Union Jack in South River, New Jersey in late 1984. Guitarist Mike Bogush was later replaced by Anthony Bramante. and Nuclear Assault set off on a 180-day world tour in the United States and Europe; first as an opening opening act for Slayer and later headlining with British group Acid Reign as a support act. The next album, 1989's Handle with Care Handle with Care (Nuclear Assault album) , would see the band at their commercial peak, hitting the US charts at number 126, with more touring, including a trip to Japan and a U.S. tour opening for Testament and Savatage. The band released their first live album, Live at the Hammersmith Odeon Live at the Hammersmith Odeon (Nuclear Assault album) , in 1990, but internal troubles were causing problems for the band.

Constant touring and recording was taking its toll on the band, and there was rumor that the band might split. The recording of Out of Order Out of Order (Nuclear Assault album) was problematic. Lead songwriter John Connelly John Connelly (musician) was conspicuously absent from the recording process. He only sang on five of the songs and played the guitar on one (Quocustodiat his only full writing credit), leaving Evans and Lilker to do most of the recording alone. After the release of Out of Order Out of Order (Nuclear Assault album) bassist Lilker left to start the band Brutal Truth in 1992. The band enlisted Scott Metaxas on bass and toured across the United States and Europe before longstanding guitarist Anthony Bramante left the band. In 1993, the band released one more album, entitled Something Wicked Something Wicked (album) doing one last European tour with guitarist Dave DiPietro before breaking up in 1995.

Nuclear Assault later reunited for one concert in 1997 (put on by Eric Paone of 'Candy Striper Death Orgy' in New Hampshire) before parting ways a second time. Then, two more shows the following year with Eric Paone on Bass Guitar in New England. They reformed once again in 2002 to record a live album entitled Alive Again Alive Again (Nuclear Assault album) followed by several European tours, first with Testament Testament (band) and Death Angel, then with Exodus Exodus (band) and Agent Steel. A new studio album entitled Third World Genocide followed in 2005, with yet more touring, including a South American tour with Death Angel.

They made a guest appearance at the Maryland Deathfest on May 25, 2008.
Studio albums and EPs

*1986: Brain Death Brain Death (EP) (EP)
*1986: Game Over Game Over (album)
*1987: The Plague The Plague (EP) (EP)
*1988: Fight to be Free (Single)
*1988: Good Times, Bad Times (EP)
*1988: Survive Survive (Nuclear Assault album)
*1989: Handle With Care Handle With Care (Nuclear Assault album)
*1991: Out of Order Out of Order (Nuclear Assault album)
*1993: Something Wicked Something Wicked (album)
*2005: Third World Genocide

Live albums

*1992: Live at the Hammersmith Odeon Live at the Hammersmith Odeon (Nuclear Assault album)
*2003: Alive Again Alive Again (Nuclear Assault album)


*1995: Assault & Battery Assault & Battery (Nuclear Assault album)


*1985: Live, Suffer, Die
*1984: Nuclear Assault demo


*1989: Handle With Care European Tour '89 Handle With Care NA video (VHS)
*1991: Radiation Sickness Radiation Sickness (video) (VHS, Re-released on DVD in 2007)
*2006: Louder Harder Faster DVD

Music videos

*Critical Mass
*Long-Haired Asshole
*Price of Freedom
*Trail Of Tears
*Something Wicked*Dan Lilker - Bass
*John Connelly John Connelly (musician) - Vocals/Guitar
*Scott Harrington - Guitar
*Glenn Evans - Drums

Former members

*Mike Bogush - Guitar (1984)
*Scott Duboys - Drums (1984)
*Anthony Bramante - Guitar (1985–1991, 2001–2002)
*Dave DiPietro - Guitar (1993)
*Scott Metaxas - Bass (1993)
*Eric Paone - Bass (1998)
*Eric Burke - Guitar (2002–2004)
*Karl Kochran - Guitar
*Dave DiPietro - Guitar


* The text above is either a part or the full text originally published at
* The text above is subject to CC-BY-SA:

Nuclear Assault


Q sec 

All lyrics are property and copyright of their respective authors, artists and labels. All lyrics provided for educational purposes only.
On you can find lyrics, album names, artist overviews, history, current and past members of bands, listen and watch videos.