Norma Jean Overview

Norma Jean is an American metalcore band from Douglasville, Georgia, a suburb of Atlanta Atlanta, Georgia . Since their inception in 1997 and replacement of members throughout the years, the band's only original members are the two guitarists, Chris Day and Scottie Henry. To date, Norma Jean have released four studio albums and received a Grammy Award nomination in 2006 for Best Recording Package Grammy Award for Best Recording Package for their second album O God, the Aftermath. Their band name is derived from the real name of actress Marilyn Monroe.


Luti-Kriss and debut album (1997—2004)

Evolving from 'Luti-Kriss', the original Norma Jean line-up featured everyone from Luti-Kriss, except a different bass player (who had been in Luti-Kriss at one point as well). Drummer Daniel Davison (writer of much of the bands material), explained that the band got their name from actress Marilyn Monroe, whose real name is Norma Jeane Baker. It wasn't until after they decided upon that name that they found out that "Norma" means "pattern", and "Jean" means "God's grace and mercy", combined saying "Patterns of grace and mercy". In 2002 the band released Bless the Martyr and Kiss the Child on Solid State Records. Their original vocalist Josh Scogin left the band shortly after the release of Bless the Martyr and Kiss the Child, stating that "it was just something that I felt led to do." Scogin has been known to join in with Norma Jean during live performances to sing "Memphis Will Be Laid To Waste" since his departure. Original bassist Joshua Doolittle also left the band around the same time as Scogin. Doolittle was replaced by Jake Schultz. Scogin left the band and later went on to start The Chariot The Chariot (band) ; he was replaced by Brad Norris for about a year and a half.

O God, The Aftermath (2005)

Brad Norris was later replaced by Cory Brandan, formerly of the bands Eso-Charis, Living Sacrifice, and Uses Fire. In March 2005 they released their second album, titled O God, the Aftermath , the album took on a Mathcore direction, heavily influenced by the bands Botch Botch (band) and Isis Isis (band) , it was also Cory Brandan's first album performance for Norma Jean. The artwork for the band's second album, O God, the Aftermath was nominated for Best Recording Package at the Grammy Awards of 2006. The artwork was designed by Ryan Clark Ryan Clark (musician)

Redeemer (2006—2007)

Redeemer, their third album, was recorded with producer Ross Robinson. On September 21, 2007, original drummer Daniel Davison announced that he would be leaving the band after their current tour ended, via the band's official website. His last show was on November 7, 2007 at Irving Plaza in New York, NY.

The Anti Mother (2008—2009)

On December 17, 2007, Norma Jean announced that they would start writing for their new album, The Anti Mother, in January, record in April, and will be playing the entire 2008 Warped Tour. Writing was officially announced on January 24. On February 13, Norma Jean announced in a Myspace bulletin that they are "about 6 songs deep." They wrote a song with Page Hamilton of Helmet Helmet (band) , and collaborated with Deftones' frontman Chino Moreno. The band described the two songs they wrote with Moreno as diverse and anti-traditional. In early to mid February, they announced that their replacement drummer would be Chris Raines, who is also the drummer for the band Spitfire.

On August 5, 2008, Norma Jean released their latest full length album, entitled The Anti Mother. Prior to leaving for their headlining tour, Norma Jean shot a music video for "Robots 3 Humans 0", with music video director Daniel Chesnut.

On January 3, 2009, Norma Jean announced on their official website that they will be writing songs for their next album. The band's upcoming fifth studio album is said to be a return "back to [their] roots."

On April 5, 2009, Norma Jean announced on their website that they have dropped off their current tour due to a myriad of reasons.

Signing to Razor & Tie (2009—present)

On November 3, 2009, Norma Jean announced that they would be parting ways with longtime label Solid State and signing a deal with independent label Razor & Tie with plans to release an album in the summer of 2010.
Norma Jean announced that a title for one of their new songs will be "Kill More Presidents" and have encourged fans to film video recording the live performance of this song.They played at 2006's Ozzfest with Ozzy Osbourne, Disturbed, Avenged Sevenfold, Hatebreed, DragonForce, System of a Down, Lacuna Coil, Black Label Society, Atreyu Atreyu (band) , Unearth, Bleeding Through, A Life Once Lost, The Red Chord, Walls of Jericho Walls of Jericho (band) , Strapping Young Lad, All That Remains All That Remains (band) , Full Blown Chaos, Between the Buried and Me and Bad Acid Trip.

In late 2006, they headlined the Radio Rebellion Tour with support from Between the Buried and Me, Fear Before, Misery Signals and The Fully Down. They played the entire Warped Tour in the summer of 2008.

On October 3, 2008, Norma Jean embarked on a U.S. headlining tour called "The Anti-Mother Tour". The tour lasted until November 15, 2008 and featured several other bands on Solid State / Tooth & Nail Records including Haste the Day, The Showdown The Showdown (band) , MyChildren MyBride, Children 18:3, and Oh, Sleeper. Children 18:3 only appeared on half of the tour dates (October 3 - October 26) while Oh, Sleeper filled in throughout the rest of the tour (October 28 - November 15).
On December 28, 2008, Norma Jean performed at the Unsilent Night 2 Festival in Plano, Texas. A total of 30 bands performed at the festival including Scary Kids Scaring Kids, Oh, Sleeper, The Secret Handshake, and Sky Eats Airplane.

On Sunday, July 12, 2009, Norma Jean performed at "LifeFest" in Oshkosh Wisconsin at 11:15 PM central time.

On Friday, July 17, 2009, Norma Jean performed at Sonshine Festival In Willmar, Minnesota.

On Thursday, September 17, 2009, Norma Jean announced they would enter a headlining tour spanning over November and December with Horse the Band, The Chariot, and Arsonists Get All the Girls. They also announced that in select cities, they would exclusively play their first album, Bless the Martyr & Kiss the Child, in its entirety. During the tour, the band played a song titled "Kill More Presidents" from their upcoming, untitled 2010 release.

Norma Jean will be on the 2010 Mayhem Festival on the Mayhem Festival side-stage along with Atreyu Atreyu (band) , In This Moment, and 3 Inches of Blood. Other festival participants include: Korn, Rob Zombie, Lamb of God Lamb of God (band) , Five Finger Death Punch, Hatebreed, Chimaira, Shadows Fall, and Winds of Plague.;Current
* Cory Brandan Putman – lead vocals, guitars (2004–present)
* Chris Day – guitars (1997–present)
* Scottie Henry – guitars (1997–present)
* Jake Schultz – bass (2002–present)
* Chris Raines – drums, percussion (2007–present)
* Josh Scogin – lead vocals (1997–2002)
* Josh Doolittle – bass (1997–2002)
* Brad Norris – lead vocals (live, 2002–2004)
* Daniel Davison – drums, percussion (1997–2007);Studio albums

*2002: Norma Jean / mewithoutYou

*2008: The Almighty Norma Jean Vinyl Boxset;Grammy Awards and nominations
*O God, the Aftermath – Best Recording Package Grammy Award for Best Recording Package , 2006 (nomination)


* The text above is either a part or the full text originally published at
* The text above is subject to CC-BY-SA:

Norma Jean


Q sec 

All lyrics are property and copyright of their respective authors, artists and labels. All lyrics provided for educational purposes only.
On you can find lyrics, album names, artist overviews, history, current and past members of bands, listen and watch videos.