No Use For A Name Overview

No Use for a Name (sometimes abbreviated NUFAN) is a punk rock band Band (music) from San Jose, California, United States formed in 1987 by Chris Dodge (guitar), Steve Papoutsis (bass Bass guitar ), Rory Koff (drums Drum kit ), and Tony Sly (vocals Singing ). The band's sound has evolved considerably through its career, taking on a much lighter brand of melodic punk as the years passed.

The original line-up of four added Ramon Gras as a second vocalist and Doug Judd as a second guitarist. The band was first featured on Maximum RocknRoll's 1987 Turn it Around compilation, with the song "Gang Way." A year later the band's self-titled debut EP was released on Woodpecker Records. Their second EP, Let 'em Out, was released a year later through Slap A Ham Records. Chris Dodge, Doug Judd, and John Meyers left the band after the release of "Let 'em Out". Soon after, Tony Sly entered the band.

NUFAN's debut album, Incognito Incognito (No Use for a Name album) , was released in 1990 through New Red Archives. Chris Dodge rejoined on second guitar, and they released their second album Don't Miss the Train in 1992 before signing up with Fat Mike's label Fat Wreck Chords in 1993. During this year Chris Dodge left the line-up, and was replaced with guitarist Robin Pfefer, who took over on lead guitar so Sly could concentrate on singing and stick to rhythm. No Use for a Name also released its first record on Fat this year, The Daily Grind The Daily Grind (album) , which turned out to be a highly successful album.

Ed Gregor replaced Robin Pfefer on lead guitar soon after the release of The Daily Grind The Daily Grind (album) . In 1995, after the release of Leche Con Carne, their fourth full-length, Chris Shiflett and Matt Riddle joined the band to play guitar and bass Bass guitar , replacing Ed Gregor and Steve Papoutsis respectively. With the punk music breakthrough in 1994, No Use for a Name received a larger audience after releasing this album, compliments of their video for the song "Soulmate" which was played on the MTV show 120 Minutes. This was the first video on Fat Wreck Chords to ever be aired on MTV. In 1997, after the success of Making Friends, the band went on a worldwide tour through the U.S., Europe, Australia, Canada, and Japan.

After releasing More Betterness!, Chris Shiflett left the band in 1999 to join the successful Foo Fighters, being replaced by Dave Nassie. Two years later, the band contributed to Fat Wreck Chords with the release of their live album, Live in a Dive: No Use for a Name and during the following year in 2002 No Use for a Name released its seventh studio album Hard Rock Bottom.

The band released their 8th full-length studio album titled Keep Them Confused June 14, 2005. It takes a more political position than earlier releases.

A greatest hits collection titled All the Best Songs was released on July 10 2007.

A new fourteen song full-length studio album entitled The Feel Good Record of the Year was released on April 1 2008. In 2009, when promoting the album in Europe, Dave Nassie left the band to join the ranks of Bleeding Through.In August 2009 the band announced, that they replaced Nassie with Lagwagon's guitarist and founding member of RKL Rich Kids on LSD , Chris Rest.*Tony Sly: lead Vocals, Rhythm Guitar
*Matt Riddle: Bass Guitar, backing vocals Backing vocalist
*Rory Koff: drums Drum kit
*Chris Rest: Guitar
Studio albums

*Incognito Incognito (No Use for a Name album) (New Red Archives, 1990. Re-released Fat Wreck Chords, 2001)
*Don't Miss the Train (New Red Archives, 1992. Re-released Fat Wreck Chords, 2001)
*The Daily Grind (Fat Wreck Chords, 1993)
*Leche Con Carne (Fat Wreck Chords, 1995)
*Making Friends (Fat Wreck Chords, 1997)
*More Betterness! (Fat Wreck Chords, 1999)
*Hard Rock Bottom (Fat Wreck Chords, 2002)
*Keep Them Confused (Fat Wreck Chords, 2005)
*The Feel Good Record of the Year (Fat Wreck Chords, 2008)

EPs and 7"

*Self-titled (Woodpecker Records, 1988)
*Let 'Em Out EP (Slap-a-Ham Records, 1989)
*Death Doesn't Care EP (New Red Archives, 1993)
*Split 7" with Soda (Session Records, 1996)
*Black Box EP (Fat Wreck Chords, 2005; never released)

Compilation and live albums

*NRA Years (Golf Records, 2000)
*Live in a Dive: No Use for a Name (Fat Wreck Chords, 2001)
*All the Best Songs (Fat Wreck Chords, 2007)

Singles and music videos

* "Soulmate" from Leche Con Carne
* "Why Doesn't Anybody Like Me?" from More Betterness!
* "Dumb Reminders" from Hard Rock Bottom
* "For Fiona" from Keep Them Confused
* "Biggest Lie" from The Feel Good Record of the Year


* The text above is either a part or the full text originally published at
* The text above is subject to CC-BY-SA:

No Use For A Name


Q sec 

All lyrics are property and copyright of their respective authors, artists and labels. All lyrics provided for educational purposes only.
On you can find lyrics, album names, artist overviews, history, current and past members of bands, listen and watch videos.