Nekromantix Overview

Nekromantix are a Danish Denmark -American United States psychobilly band formed in 1989 in Copenhagen, Denmark and currently recording for Hellcat Records. Their music is generally structured around monster and horror horror fiction themes which are reflected in their album and song titles, lyrics, artwork, and stage show. A central icon of the band's image is bassist/vocalist Singing Kim Nekroman's "coffinbass", a custom-built, very deep Contrabass double bass with a body in the shape of a coffin and a headstock the shape of a cross.

The band has had changing lineups throughout its career, with founder Kim Nekroman as the sole constant member. The current line-up consists of Nekroman, guitarist Franc, and drummer Lux. Throughout the band's first 11 years they released five albums on various European record labels, which were only available in the US as imports. The group crossed over to American United States audiences in the early 2000s by signing to the Los Angeles-based Hellcat Records label, through which they have released three albums since 2002. The Nekromantix' eighth album, Life Is a Grave & I Dig It!, was released in April 2007.



The Nekromantix were formed in 1989 in Copenhagen by Kim Nekroman after he left the Danish Navy, in which he had been a submarine radio operator. Deciding to launch a new career in music, he initially played drums Drum kit in a rockabilly band prior to the foundation of Nekromantix. Learning to play the double bass and to sing, Nekroman set about forming a horror-themed psychobilly band with himself as the frontman. Initially consisting of Nekroman, guitarist Paolo Molinari and drummer Jens Brygman, the band took the name Nekromantix. A centerpiece of the band's image was Nekroman's self-constructed "coffinbass," an upright bass in the shape of a coffin. The first of these was constructed using an actual child-sized coffin, but over the years he has constructed new models in order to achieve better acoustics and collapsibility for easier transportation.

After six months of practice and two local performances in Copenhagen at the Stengade 30 club, the Nekromantix appeared at large psychobilly festival in Hamburg, Germany. Their performance earned them a recording contract with Tombstone Records for their first album Hellbound Hellbound (album) . The band began touring Europe and built a name for themselves in the European psychobilly movement, which at the time was largely dominated by British United Kingdom acts. To replace them Nekroman recruited guitarist Troy Russel (Tröy Deströy) and drummer James Mesa (Wasted James) of the California-based psychobilly band the Rezurex. That year the band's third album Brought Back to Life was remastered and re-released by Hellcat under the title Brought Back Again.

Recent activity

In May 2006 Meza left the Nekromantix, later joining Tiger Army. He was replaced by Andrew Martinez (Andy DeMize) of The Rocketz. The Nekromantix' most recent album, Life Is a Grave & I Dig It!, was released in April 2007. In November 2007 the band announced Tröy Deströy's departure to focus on a solo career. Pete Belair of the Australian band Firebird was announced as the band's new guitarist and performed with them during their 2008 tours, living in Australia complicated things and Franc, formerly of Barcelona-based Nightbreed and Ultimo Asalto, joined as a permanent guitarist.

On January 11, 2009 Martinez was killed in an automobile collision. The following month it was announced that Lux, formerly of Mystery Hangup and Sacred Storm, would be Martinez's replacement. The band's first female member, Lux stated that the Nekromantix would tour North America with Reverend Horton Heat during the summer and record a new album later in the year.

In September 2009, Nekromantix announced they will be touring with Rob Zombie.
Current members

*Kim Nekroman – Contrabass, vocals Singing (1989–present)
*Franc – guitar, backing vocals (2008–present)
*Lux – drums drum kit (2009–present)

Past members

*Paolo Molinari – guitar (1989)
*Jens Brygman – drums (1989))
*Peek (Sebastian) – drums (1989–1993)
*Peter Sandorff – guitar, backing vocals (1989–1993, 1997–2005)
*Ian Dawn (Jan Daggry) – guitar, backing vocals (1993–1994)
*Emil Oelund – guitar (1994–1995)
*Thormod – guitar (1995)
*Søren Munk Petersen – guitar, backing vocals (1995–1996)
*Grim Tim Handsome (Tim Kristensen) – drums (1993–1996)
*Kristian Sandorff – drums (2000–2005)
*Wasted James (James Meza) – drums (2005–2006)
*Tröy Deströy – guitar, backing vocals (2005–2007)
*Pete Belair – guitar, backing vocals (2007–2008)
*Andy DeMize (Andrew Martinez) – drums (2006–2009)The discography of the Nekromantix consists of seven studio albums, one live album, three single single (music) s, and three music videos.

Studio albums

Live albums


Music videos



* The text above is either a part or the full text originally published at
* The text above is subject to CC-BY-SA:



Q sec 

All lyrics are property and copyright of their respective authors, artists and labels. All lyrics provided for educational purposes only.
On you can find lyrics, album names, artist overviews, history, current and past members of bands, listen and watch videos.