Naughty By Nature Overview

Naughty by Nature is a Grammy Award-winning American United States hip hop Hip hop music trio group that at the time of its formation in 1989 consisted of Treach, Vin Rock, and the DJ Kay Gee. The group formed in East Orange, New Jersey

Their first hit as Naughty by Nature was a track called "O.P.P. O.P.P. (song) ," which sampled the Jackson 5's hit "ABC ABC (song) " and was released in 1991 on their self-titled album Naughty by Nature Naughty by Nature (album) . The song peaked at #6 on the Billboard Hot 100 ,singles, and being ranked the 20th best single of the 90s by Spin Spin (magazine) magazineVarious

The album also generated another hit called "Everything's Gonna be All Right" (the track was also called "Ghetto Bastard" on some explicit releases). That song detailed the experiences of Treach growing up in poverty, and now rising up to live a better life. Powered by the success of that song and "O.P.P.", their self titled album went platinum.

Fellow New Jersey native Tony D, accused Naughty by Nature of stealing a sample from his breakbeat album Music Makes You Move and using it on their track "O.P.P." The matter was settled out of court. Between albums, the group also scored a major hit with the track "Uptown Anthem", from the soundtrack to the 1992 film Juice Juice (film) . Treach also got a cameo acting role in the film, his first acting role.
Later, the group had multiple hits from its third and fourth albums, called 19 Naughty III and Poverty's Paradise respectively. Both albums reached the #1 spot on the R&B/Hip-Hop Charts. "Hip Hop Hooray" was a success from the album 19 Naughty III. Its video was directed by Spike Lee and featured other hip-hop artists po***r in the early 1990s, including Queen Latifah, Eazy-E, Run-D.M.C., and Da Youngstas. Poverty's Paradise won the Grammy Award in 1996 for Best Rap Album ,17 on the Billboard Hot 100
Naughty by Nature is well known for being one of the few rap acts who were able through their career to balance success on the pop charts with hardcore rap credibility.
They also perform former WWE Executive Vice President of Global Media WWE Roster Shane McMahon's entrance song "Here Comes the Money".

In later years, Naughty by Nature started their own music imprint, Illtown Records ,*Independent Leaders (1989)
*Naughty by Nature Naughty by Nature (album) (1991)
*19 Naughty III (1993)
*Poverty's Paradise (1995)
*Nineteen Naughty Nine: Nature's Fury (1999)
*IIcons (2002)
Naughty by Nature's new album Anthem Inc. will drop the summer of 2010.


* The text above is either a part or the full text originally published at
* The text above is subject to CC-BY-SA:

Naughty By Nature


Q sec 

All lyrics are property and copyright of their respective authors, artists and labels. All lyrics provided for educational purposes only.
On you can find lyrics, album names, artist overviews, history, current and past members of bands, listen and watch videos.