Modest Mouse Overview

Modest Mouse is an American indie rock band formed in 1993 in the Seattle suburb of Issaquah, Washington by singer/lyricist/guitarist Isaac Brock Isaac Brock (musician) , drummer Jeremiah Green, and bassist Eric Judy. Since their 1996 debut album, This Is a Long Drive for Someone with Nothing to Think About, their lineup has centered around Brock, Green and Judy. Guitarist Johnny Marr (formerly of The Smiths) joined the band in May 2006, along with percussionist Joe Plummer (formerly of the Black Heart Procession) and multi-instrumentalist Tom Peloso, to work on the album We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank. Guitarist Jim Fairchild joined the band in February 2009.

The band has accrued significant mainstream success since being signed to Sony's Epic Records in 2001 and have been one of the leading bands in the commercialization of indie rock, beginning with The Moon & Antarctica and Good News for People Who Love Bad News, which have been certified gold and platinum by the RIAA respectively. They have gone on to sell over three million records since. Elements of Modest Mouse's early sound have been likened to or inspired by that of Pixies and numerous other alternative rock and space rock bands. Their name is derived from a passage from the Virginia Woolf story "The Mark on the Wall" which reads, "I wish I could hit upon a pleasant track of thought, a track indirectly reflecting credit upon myself, for those are the pleasantest thoughts, and very frequent even in the minds of modest, mouse-coloured people, who believe genuinely that they dislike to hear their own praises."



In 1994, Isaac Brock, Jeremiah Green, Eric Judy, and John Wickhart recorded their debut EP Extended play , Blue Cadet-3, Do You Connect?, at Calvin Johnson Calvin Johnson (musician) 's Dub Narcotic Studios. It was released under K Records. John Wickhart played bass guitar on the EP. Then followed a single, "Broke Broke (Modest Mouse song) ", under Sub Pop that was recorded by Steve Wold (now better known as bluesman Seasick Steve) at Moon Studios. During this time, Modest Mouse also recorded their would-be debut album Sad Sappy Sucker, but constant delays caused the album to be shelved and forgotten (it was officially released in 2001). Until making waves in the pop music world in 2004, many of their tours included stops at DIY/punk venues.

Up Records releases

After moving to Up Records,

On March 17 2010, it was announced that The Moon & Antarctica will be re-released on vinyl for the first time in 5 years as part of Record Store Day.;Current
*Isaac Brock Isaac Brock (musician) / lead vocals, guitars, banjo, ukulele (1993 / present)
*Jim Fairchild / guitars, vocals (2005, 2009 / present)
*Eric Judy / bass (1993 / present)
*Jeremiah Green / drums, percussion (1993 / 2003, 2004 / present)
*Joe Plummer / drums (2004 / present)

*John Wickhart / bass (1994 / 1995)
*Dann Gallucci / guitars (1997 / 1998, 2003 / 2004)
*Benjamin Weikel / drums (2003 / 2004)
*Johnny Marr / guitars, vocals (2006 / 2009)
Studio albums

*This Is a Long Drive for Someone with Nothing to Think About (1996)
*The Lonesome Crowded West (1997)
*The Moon & Antarctica (2000)
*Good News for People Who Love Bad News (2004)
*We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank (2007)


*Blue Cadet-3, Do You Connect? (1994)
*Interstate 8 Interstate 8 (album) (1996)
*The Fruit That Ate Itself (1997)
*Night on the Sun (1999)
*Everywhere and His Nasty Parlour Tricks (2001)
*No One's First and You're Next (2009)


* The text above is either a part or the full text originally published at
* The text above is subject to CC-BY-SA:

Modest Mouse


Q sec 

All lyrics are property and copyright of their respective authors, artists and labels. All lyrics provided for educational purposes only.
On you can find lyrics, album names, artist overviews, history, current and past members of bands, listen and watch videos.